Government Expands Use of ePassport Gates at UK Airports

As of May 20, 2019, millions more people will be able to use ePassport gates as they arrive in the UK, the Chancellor confirmed in the Spring Statement. Eligible passengers from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, and the United States are now able to use the ePassport gates at UK airports. The Chancellor also announced that, to coincide with the ePassport gates expansion, the government will begin to abolish landing cards for non-EEA travellers.

Immigration Minister Caroline Nokes said: “The expanded access to ePassport gates and the withdrawal of landing cards is part of our work to transform the UK’s border, providing a quicker, seamless experience for passengers that is built around digital systems.”

These changes will deliver an improved arrival experience and is further encouragement for people who boost our economy through tourism and business to travel to the UK. The government’s ambition is to go further and more details will be provided in due course.

All passengers arriving at UK ports and airports will continue to be subject to full identity and security checks. For more information click here.